Counter Intelligence

The Diet Starts Today

Posted in District of Columbia by melissamccart on January 1, 2007

dorie.jpgIn getting ready to go out for New Year’s Eve, I frantically tried on all the jeans in my closet last night, only to be reminded that three months ago I had a whole lot more wiggle room in every pair.  After a season of Christmas cookies, foie gras, pork, pecans, egg nog, and holiday alcohol, I quickly came to the conclusion that the diet must start today

When I lived in New York, “diet” meant going to spin class four or five days a week and not eating cheese any day except Sunday.  This was back when I regularly ate pizza for lunch or dinner. In addition, I walked more than I do now, had a whole lot less money and couldn’t afford to go out to eat (Why else does Gothamist write “first plates,” focus on brunch and take-out and avoid full restaurant reviews? It’s an expensive city.).  I was also somewhat influenced by the reality that New Yorker women are skinnier than their D.C. counterparts.  That said, the mirror — and several pairs of jeans– tell me that it’s time to get gritty and start losing some holiday heft.

Now that I’m in my 30s and currently have a crazy work schedule –full time teaching and a Monday three-article freelance deadline–I’m admitting up front that I’ll need to be more proactive than the “spin class and no cheese” diet.  Aside from having less free time than ever, to think I’d actually attend four 6:00 Results spin classes a week is a fantasy, since the guys who lead spin classes play Berlinesque crappy club music that makes me want to run screaming from the room. Also, I’m not 25 and can’t lose weight by just cutting back on cheese anymore. I guess I’m going to have to be more vigilant in watching what I eat by scaling back on butter, bacon, and beloved cheese.  (And since when did I start liking desserts?  As if I should be making Cook’s Illustrated “Emergency Chocolate Cake,” for God’s sake.)

What take out places and restaurants offer appetizing healthy menu options?  Where can I get a good salad or a sandwich that doesn’t rack up half a day’s calories? 

Off the top of my head, I’m thinking of alternating between Cheerios for dinner in, and gravlax and smoked sprats at Domku for dinner out.  Any other suggestions? 

Leave a Reply

