Counter Intelligence

The Love Cook

Posted in General Interest by melissamccart on October 5, 2007

(In class today, one of my students drew my attention to this poem. . . . )

Let me cook you some dinner.

Sit down and take off your shoes

and socks and in fact the rest

of your clothes, have a daiquiri,

turn on some music and dance

around the house, inside and out,

it’s night and the neighbors

are sleeping, those dolts, and

the stars are shining bright,

and I’ve got the burners lit

for you, you hungry thing.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. suicide_blond said, on October 5, 2007 at 1:01 pm

    oh i love this poem!!! i may paint it on the wall of my kitchen..
    xoxo

  2. louise said, on October 14, 2007 at 11:28 am

    Great poen! Who’s the author? What’s the source?

  3. melissamccart said, on October 15, 2007 at 12:25 pm

    Hi, Louise. The poet’s name is Ron Padgett; I think it was on NPR a couple of years ago, but I’ll confirm it at the library where my students find the anthology. Thanks for the comment!


Leave a Reply

