Counter Intelligence

What are you most excited to eat on Thanksgiving?

Posted in General Interest by melissamccart on November 20, 2007

dudleys.jpgWhen I first went to Will’s sister’s cabin in Nelson County for Thanksgiving, I picked up a few new traditions: Bloody Marys and stone crab claws before the meal, Thanksgiving lunch instead of dinner.  But my favorite tradition of theirs is the oyster roast in the evening. 

Not being a Southerner, I had never heard of or been to an oyster roast; it was 2003, before the Lee Brothers wrote about it for the Times. Nooysters.jpgt to mention, I’d never had a roasted oyster: only raw or fried. 

I think the traditional way is to dig a pit, but a grill works just as well for roasting.  Once they were hot, Elis shucked and we ate them on Saltines with a dash of tobasco and a squeeze of lemon.  I love the ritual of it. And while it’s not as primal as slurping a raw oyster from its shell, a roasted one is its own kind of wonderful. I liked the tradition so much I told my family about it. Now they have their own.

The animals thought so too. Since the cabin is in the woods, once the oysters hit the grill, it was like being in Bambi, with all the eyes from raccoon and deer peeping out from between the trees.

I’m not the main cook this Thanksgiving, but I am making Melissa Clark’s brussel sprout salad with olive oil, lemon, cracked pepper, walnuts, and machengo cheese (I swear, I like it better than any I’ve had with bacon), as well as Michael Harr’s pumpkin soup— both of which are delicious.  However. Even though I’ve been on an oyster binge– I had them for lunch at Hank’s in Alexandria on Friday, the Oyster Riot this weekend, and last night at a Hank’s oyster dinner– I’m still most looking forward to the oyster roast.  It’s the season, after all.  And, I’m much more into shellfish than turkey.

Looking for where to order your own oysters for eating in the raw, roasted, in stews or stuffing?  Consult Rowan Jacobsen’s blog on suppliers as well as other information regarding The Geography of Oysters.

What are you most looking forward to eating on Thanksgiving?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Food Rockz Man said, on November 20, 2007 at 1:00 pm

    My mother’s potato gratin . . . I crave it year round, but only get to eat it on the holidays. I’m psyched!

  2. Julie said, on November 21, 2007 at 10:54 pm

    I like the idea of the brussels sprouts salad. Too late for me to try it for tomorrow but I’m going to try to make it this weekend.


Leave a Reply

