Counter Intelligence

Favorite Food Books: Missy Frederick, Washington Business Journal Restaurant and Real Estate Writer

Posted in District of Columbia, Recipes by melissamccart on December 11, 2008

As much as I troll websites and blogs for cooking tips and food news,  I rely on my cookbook collection most.  Flipping through best books of the year lists has prompted me to wonder what books other local food writers and chefs enjoy, so I decided to ask. Throughout the day, you’ll find their favorites right now, be it 2008 releases or time-worn copies of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking.”  First up, Missy Frederick Restaurant and Real Estate reporter for the Washington Business Journal.

1) Bittman’s “How To Cook Everything” is essentially my replacement for “The Joy of Cooking”: – I tend to use it as my reference tool when I want to make a basic dish (recent use: pasta e fagioli). That definitely wins “most stained” award.

2) “The Gas Grill Gourmet” and “How To Grill.”  Grilling is something that just doesn’t come naturally to me, so I’m a lot more wimpy when it comes to improvisation. The former is good for more creative things that make grilling less boring–and it deserves credit for my fave marinade ever, soy-sriracha-sesame oil– and the latter is great for daunting stuff.

Leave a Reply

